iUniverse Not Taking Customer Complaints Seriously

Before I get into the meat of this post, there are a couple of things newcomers might need to know and followers might want to be reminded of:

  • My ex-husband is an employee of Author Solutions.
  • Author Solutions owns iUniverse.
  • Author Solutions used me to get free reviews for their self-published customers.
  • In several cases, Author Solutions employees contacted me pretending to be the actual authors, asking for absurd favors and portraying their customers in a negative light.
  • I got angry, stopped doing reviews and later scolded iUniverse, my ex-husband, Keith Ogorek and Author Solutions after discovering the truth about their scammy publicity tactics.

If you want the sordid details, you can read The iUniverse Rants: Coming Clean to get caught up.

iUniverse Customer Service Update

So, what did iUniverse’s Keith Ogorek do this past weekend? He sent Lawrence Fisher, the first dissatisfied iUniverse customer to be interviewed here on Suess’s Pieces, an email. Fisher shared the email with me and has given me permission to quote it here. (You’ll notice I’ve removed title and link information. Don’t want to give them free advertising now do I?)

Keith Ogorek writes to Fisher:

…Yes. But Createspace and iUniverse are very different. I explain that in my ebook [title redacted]. It is $.099 on [domain redacted]. Here’s the link

[link information redacted]

I have one other question and one suggestion.

First, why do you think word-of-mouth did not take off if you had such good reviews on the book?

Second, I wonder if Emily would do a review of your book on her blog. That might help spur sales as well.

iUniverse Complaints Aren’t Taken Seriously

Oh. My. God. Where do I start with this one? Look, only a real jerk would see a customer service exchange as an opportunity to promote his own ebook. If you’ve been on the fence about iUniverse and its motives up to this point, you should be seeing things pretty clearly now. They are not concerned at all with customer satisfaction or maintaining the integrity of their services. They are only trying to make as much money as they can by doing as little work as possible.

Next, don’t miss what Ogorek is trying to do when he writes, “why do you think word-of-mouth did not take off if you had such good reviews on the book?” He’s trying to distract Fisher from the real issue: iUniverse promised services they did not deliver and they promised Lawrence Fisher a refund. They desperately want to change the direction of the conversation by bogging Fisher down with nonsensical questions in order to avoid giving him his money back.

No one is forgetting that iUniverse promised Fisher a refund. I won’t let that happen.

This next one takes the cake. Ogorek suggests his customer approach me—a book reviewer who is clearly hostile to iUniverse titles and severely critical of self-published works in general—to request a review. This proves to me that the company’s employees do not take complaints seriously and they are not invested in the success of their writers.

0 thoughts on “iUniverse Not Taking Customer Complaints Seriously

  1. well ummmm that is quite clear.  I hope someone from iUniverse takes the time to read or have read to them this post and thinks about what that might mean for their company.  I mean this could go viral.  

  2. Lawrence says:

    I have been attacking iUniverse since February and have quite a few authors. They called me to stop my attacks and even kicked me off their forums and banned me from some. I was sent from person to person, each telling a different story. 

    As I keep saying: “If they had spent the time marketing and not putting out fires, everyone would be better off.” They claim that they cannot market 45000 books – means that they are just too big now

  3. GT says:

    I agree. I published a book with IU and regret doing so. After spending $2,000, I have an overpriced book no one wants and a contract I can’t break. Barnes and Noble liked my book and agreed to buy several hundred copies to put in their stores. They said the price was too high ($16.99 for 275 page soft copy), so I told IU and they said “Sorry. That’s the price. We can’t drop it.” Amazing! B&N sells books, knows prices and markets, and IU turns a deaf ear. It infuriates me. They are the worst example of customer service I have ever seen!!

  4. Linda says:

    I am a ex iUniverse employee and I have much sympathy for the Authors. They are a total scam and imagine how they treat their employees as well. That is the most poorly run company i have ever encountered and they run it by threatening their employees and striking fear of firing them. I was terminated for voicing my opinion in regards to unfair treatment of one employee to the next. imagine that.

  5. Vic says:

    I published with iuniverse in the past and it was a fairly good deal. I just put out a new book and the price they put on it is so fricken outrageous that nobody wants to buy it. $31.95 for 571 pages. Similar sized books are selling for $19.95. Plus I am convinced that most of the employes are not English speaking, because their grammar is horrific in all of their correspondence. I’m very dissatisfied but not sure what to do about it. I just wrote a letter that I sent to about ten different email addresses. If you have any advice, I’d love to hear it. After spending three years of writing my book, I cannot even get it off the ground.

Leave a Reply

