Dawn's Confession

By Dawn Miller

kindleI know this probably isn’t the right forum for me to make this confession, but I just don’t care anymore.  I have an addiction.  I can’t go a day without touching it.  I have to do it every day.  I have to do it to live.  If I don’t get it, I become sullen and cranky.  Sometimes a substitute can hold me over but I can’t wait to get the real thing back in my hands.  Even while using the fix I have on hand, I will spend time online looking for ways to replenish my stash as quickly and as cheaply as possible.  My name is Dawn, and I am an E-readeraholic.

My drug of choice is my Kindle.  I always have it nearby and on the rare occasions when I don’t, I do have the Kindle App on my iPhone.  It’s so thin and light and I can read it indoors or out.  Glare?  No problem.  Sore hands from holding a paperback open?  Not anymore!  The awkward difficulty of trying to hold open a hardcover in bed?  Not tonight!  Nothing to read and can’t get to the store?  NEVER AGAIN!  I have Wi-Fi and the 3G service on my Kindle and have never been somewhere I couldn’t download a book!

The books, oh the books!!!  I follow two blogs that keep me posted on all of Amazon’s free book offerings as they are released.  I follow 4 Facebook pages that do the same also.  After all, one contributor might get sick and not update their page so you have to have multiple sources, right?  Of course, I am right. Just agree with me.  At first, I downloaded every free book no matter what its content.  Then, I realized after about two months and about 200 books that wasn’t necessary.  As of today, I have 188 unread books on my Kindle home page.  I have 959 books in archives of which about two-thirds have been read.  Many of the books in the archives are some of the few thousand free classics that Amazon has ready to download.

Yet, somehow I still spend about an average of $35 on books each month.  Don’t look at me like that. I have many authors that I follow regularly.  I have to keep following their new offerings don’t I?  Also, the free books will often be first in a series of 3 or 5 or the third book of 4, and then I have to buy the rest of the series once I fall in love with free one… right?  Don’t I? Yes, of course I do!  I told you it was an addiction!

One of my favorite features is the pre-order capability.  A few months before an author’s new book comes out, I can pre-order and it will be automatically delivered to my Kindle at about 3 a.m. on the release day.  I wake up, turn on the Kindle and my latest fix, er, I mean book is waiting for me to read.  There is also a free sample feature which allows me to read the first couple of chapters in a book and decide if it’s something I want to spend money on.

As Emily mentioned in my introduction, I am dealing with chronic illnesses. Unfortunately, they give me chronic pain causing insomnia.  So while my dear husband is snoring next me, rubbing my face in his ability to fall asleep mere seconds after saying ‘Good night,’  my Kindle is always awake.  Always ready to offer me a new story world to get lost inside, where there is no pain for me, no disease and no stress.  My kids will actually tell me some days, ‘Mom, you seem a little stressed out, maybe you should get out the Kindle.’  Bless their enabling little hearts!

Sometimes, reading a book won’t do.  That’s fine because I have 22 games for Kindle ready to go.  Scrabble, Slingo, Monopoly, Yahtzee— all the classics ready to entertain and help me unwind.  Also there are many free games offered like Thread Words, Minesweeper, Video Poker, Dots and Boxes.  Playing word games and puzzle games are great way to keep your mind active.  New ones keep popping up every week.  There must be many people out there with the same addiction.

I am sorry if this sounds like a commercial for Kindle.  I don’t mean for it to be that.  I think any e-reader would do, Nook, Kobo, Sony’s; even an iPad or tablet would suffice! My hope is that through my confession maybe you thought of someone in your life that is ill, has a mobility issue or maybe is elderly who would benefit from the ease of owning a library, a game board and web browser at their finger tips.

I joke about my Kindle and its content being an addiction; but truly it is often a lifeline.  It is a balm to soothe my weary mind, and an analgesic to my sore body.  Think about having a fix.  See what it can do for you or your loved ones.


Dawn Miller

Dawn is a veteran blogger and mom to three. Diagnosed with two chronic diseases and a brain tumor, she still manages to stay positive. She manages a complex life with healthy doses of love, happiness, and coffee. She is the author of the blog Carpe Diem and recently contributed a guest post at Book Blather.

 

 

Photo credit: kodomut

0 thoughts on “Dawn's Confession

  1. Randy Clark says:

    SOL (Snort out loud) What a fun post! First of all, the tweet was so enticing how could I not open it up? “I know this probably isn’t the right forum for me to make this confession” I don’t own an E-reader (did I say that right?) – but now I want one. If we’re talking about addiction in general…well. Gotta run and do some more social media stuff because I’m beginning to twitch. 

  2. Dan says:

    My Kindle’s getting kind of full, and I keep worrying about the day when I realize that…  ::tremble::  I will have to remove content. 

    I mean, who goes?  I know I can get them back whenever, but still….  Taking the Twain bio off would be like euthanizing my grandfather.  I’ve got some stuff on there that I’ve read and could get rid of, but what if I’ve missed something?  What…  if?  It’ll be gone, and I’ll need a hotspot to access it, and I’ll have to get rid of something else.

    It keeps me up at nights.  

  3. I have a friend who has arthritis and she says the Kindle is like a lifeline for her too. For me, it would be just another expensive piece of equipment that I’d have to keep up with. And seeing as how I’m barely able to keep track of my keys, cell phone and glasses, I’d better hold off on the Kindle for a while.

  4. Woo hoo, look at you, Ms. Dawn! You’re turning into a regular blogging machine! I love my Kindle too and I really, really love Kindle Graph because now I can sign books digitally. How cool is that? Keep up the good work, Dawn. I’m in your cornerl

  5. Dawn says:

    Thank you everyone!  I appreciate the support!  Glad you liked ‘my confession’!  lol

    Dan – I guess you didn’t know this but, you can remove items from your kindle and they are automatically archived for free and you can access them anytime and they will allow you to archive an unlimited amount of books.  You can put any book back onto your Kindle hard drive again just by clicking on the title in your archives.  It will upload back to Kindle in less than a minute.  It is AWESOME!  lol

Leave a Reply

