The Small Business Bonfire & Me

Small Business BonfireI am not being compensated for writing this post. However, I do have something to gain from the Bonfire’s growth.

Several months ago, Alyssa Gregory put out a call for contributors for a new site she was starting, Small Business Bonfire.

I contacted her and a short while later was offered a spot as a contributor for the site’s blog and monthly newsletter. My first small business article for the site—a piece on direct mail marketing—was published back in March.

I also joined the site (you can join for free, you know) for a couple of reasons. First, it’s good business practice for freelance writers to be involved in their clients’ networks and communities. This participation may take different forms depending on the client, but I try to always remember that helping clients is good for my business too.

Second, the Bonfire network is in and of itself valuable to me as a small business owner. I’ve gained something by being a part of the community, and I believe all good things should be shared.

One of the cool new things I learned about while at the Bonfire is the Hello Bar. It is awesome for drawing attention to important messages on my blog. Maybe you noticed that orange bar up there urging you to subscribe to my blog’s feed when you came to Suess’s Pieces today? That’s the free version, and I have a few Hello Bar invites left if you’d like to try it out on your own site. Just leave me a comment.

If you’re self-employed or hope to be, I think you’d really like life around the Bonfire. I’ll even let you pick my brain without charging you my consulting fee.

0 thoughts on “The Small Business Bonfire & Me

  1. Thanks for the post, Emily, and for touting the value of the Small Business Bonfire! Clearly, I am biased; but I do think we are building something pretty darn cool with the Bonfire community. I’m thrilled to have you on the team. 🙂

    If you’re reading this and you are an existing or aspiring small business owner who is looking for a unique group of entrepreneurial peers to support you, learn from you, teach you and challenge you, I’m saving you a seat around the Bonfire. See you there!

  2. I like your little disclaimer at the top.

    The more people join the Bonfire, the merrier it becomes!  Self-employment is not for everyone – some days are hectic, some rewarding,  a few have unexpected turns, and others are slow.  But that’s a good reason to find other like-minded folks to share ideas.

    Look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

